Categories Interesting

Last viceroy of india?

Who was the first and last viceroy of India?

Governor-General of India

Viceroy and Governor-General of India
Lord Mountbatten Last Viceroy of British Raj Chakravarti Rajagopalachari Last Governor-General of Dominion of India
Style His Excellency
Residence Government House (1858–1931) Viceroy’s House (1931–1950) Viceregal Lodge (1888–1947)

Who was the last viceroy of India Class 8?

Lord Mountbatten was the last viceroy of the British Indian Empire and the first Governor-General of independent India. Lord Mountbatten has some plans and provisions for the development of India.

Who was the last viceroy and last Governor General of India?

Louis Mountbatten , Earl Mountbatten of Burma became governor-general and oversaw the transition of British India to independence. Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1878-1972) became the only Indian and last governor-general after independence.

Is Governor General and Viceroy same?

Under Government of India Act 1858, Governor General of India got replaced by Viceroy . Governor General is appointed by East India Company. Whereas, Viceroy is Direct representative of British Crown.

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: India Customer Service?

Who was last viceroy?

Lord Mountbatten : The Last Viceroy.

Who was the best Viceroy of India?

Top 15 British Viceroys of India Viceroy # 1. Lord Canning as First Viceroy , (1858-62): Viceroy # 2. Lord Elgin (1862-63): Viceroy # 3. Sir John Lawrence, (1864-69): Viceroy # 4. Lord Mayo, (1869-72): Viceroy # 5. Lord Northbrook, (1872-76): Viceroy # 6. Lord Lytton, (1876-80): Viceroy # 7. Lord Ripon (1880-84): Viceroy # 8. Lord Dufferin, (1884-88):

Who is the 2nd Governor General of India?

List of Governors-General

Name (Birth–Death) Term of office Appointer
Warren Hastings (1732–1818) 20 October 1773 East India Company (1773–1858)
John Macpherson (acting) (1745–1821) 8 February 1785
Charles Cornwallis The Marquess Cornwallis (1738–1805) 12 September 1786
John Shore (1751–1834) 28 October 1793

How many viceroys were there in India?

Viceroys in India from 1858 to 1947

Viceroy Tenure
Lord Minto II 1905 – 1910
Lord Hardinge II 1910 – 1916
Lord Chelmsford 1916 – 1921
Lord Reading 1921 – 1926

Who removed Doctrine of Lapse?

Following the rebellion, in 1858, the new British Viceroy of India, whose rule replaced that of the British East India Company, renounced the doctrine .

What is a viceroy?

Viceroy , one who rules a country or province as the representative of his sovereign or king and who is empowered to act in the sovereign’s name.

Who was the first and last Governor General of free India?

Rajagopalachari , independent India’s first and last Indian Governor General.

How many years did British rule in India?

British raj, period of direct British rule over the Indian subcontinent from 1858 until the independence of India and Pakistan in 1947.

You might be interested:  FAQ: Coke studio india?

What rank is a viceroy?

Viceroy is a form of royal appointment rather than noble rank . An individual viceroy often also held a noble title, however, such as Bernardo de Gálvez, 1st Viscount of Galveston who was also Viceroy of New Spain.

Who is called Governor?

governor in American English 1. the executive head of a state in the U.S. 2.

Who appointed the Viceroy of India?

Viceroy (1858-1947): After the revolt of 1857, the company rule was abolished and India came under the direct control of the British crown. Government of India Act 1858 passed which changed the name of post- Governor General of India by Viceroy of India. The Viceroy was appointed directly by the British government.

1 звезда2 звезды3 звезды4 звезды5 звезд (нет голосов)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *